Sabtu, 26 April 2014

Women's World League European campaign finishes on high note

AKUATIK. In the last round of the women's World League preliminaries in Europe, held on April 22, visiting Greece defeated Hungary 10-8 in Szekesfehervar to take second in Group B but the win was not enough for the 2011 World champions to earn a berth for the Super Final as Group A's second-seed Russia enjoyed a greater goal average. Russia thus joins Italy and Spain as European qualifiers for the Super Final. 

In an intense match-up, Great Britain proved tremendous against an unchallenged Iberian squad, stunning the reigning World champions 9-7 in front of the home crowd in Manchester.
Meanwhile, the women's teams of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Japan, Kazakhstan, Venezuela and USA are gearing up for the first-ever FINA Intercontinental Tournament, taking place in Riverside (USA) on May 19-25. The event will qualify four teams for the women's Super Final to be played in Kunshan (CHN) on June 10-15. (fina)

Diving elite to shine again at london aquatics centre

AKUATIK. On April 25-27, the London Aquatics Centre will host the third leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2014. Divers from the strongest nations in the sport will be in action in a total eight events: men's and women's 3m springboard and 10m platform, individual and synchro.
Among men, those to watch in London include British star and 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Tom Daley (10m platform), current Olympic champion David Boudia (USA, 10m platform) and World champion He Chong (CHN, 3m springboard), 2013 World bronze medallist Sascha Klein (GER, 10m platform), 2013 Series overall winner Yahel Castillo (MEX, 3m springboard) and 2013 Series overall winner Victor Minibaev (RUS, 10m platform).

The women's events feature a tough competitive field with China's biggest assets Minxia Wu and Zi He in the 3m springboard, Ruolin Chen and Yajie Si in the 10m platform, 2012 Olympic bronze medallist and 2013 Series runner-up Laura Sanchez (MEX, 3m springboard), 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Pandelela Rinong Pamg (MAS) and 2013 World bronze medallist Pamela Ware (CAN, 3m springboard).

At each meet, US$96,000 of prize money is reserved for the three best divers of all eight individual and synchro events. An overall prize money of US$87,000 will be divided between the top-six divers in each event, totalling US$696,000. (fina)

10km World Cup: Action-packed races and close finishes mark season debut

AKUATIK. It was game on from the get go as the world's top marathon swimmers battled it out in the first two stops of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2014, held in Viedma (ARG, February 1) and Cancun (MEX, April 5). 

Among men, Thomas Lurz (GER) started his World Cup title defense campaign by claiming his first win of the season in Cancun, while 22-year-old Thomas Allen (GBR) celebrated his first trip to the podium in the opening leg in Viedma. 

The women's races in Viedma and Cancun featured high-level competition with reigning World champion Poliana Okimoto (BRA) bagging a gold and silver. 2012 Olympic bronze medal winner Martina Grimaldi (ITA) touched first in Cancun.

Lurz and Okimoto are the most-decorated swimmers in the FINA 10km circuit with a total 21 and 16 victories, respectively. Setubal (POR) will stage the third stop of the World Cup on June 28, 2014.(fina)

World League: Montenegro and Italy head-to-head for last Super Final spot

AKUATIK. The last round of the men's preliminary European tournament of the FINA Water Polo World League 2014 will be held on April 15 with the remaining three games.

Keeping its World League title defense in sight, Group A leader Serbia will meet Russia in Kragujevac (SRB). Reigning World champion Hungary, currently atop Group B, will face 2012 Olympic champion Croatia in Pecs (HUN). In Group C last encounter, Germany will play Montenegro in Krefeld (GER).

Montenegro, whose squad totals 12 points so far, is head-to-head with Italy for the last Super Final spot. The Italians defeated Slovakia in a tight 14-13 on April 1, earning a total 15 points.
The men's Intercontinental Tournament, which brings together the teams of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Africa and USA, will take place in Shanghai (CHN) from May 27-June 1, 2014.

The best eight teams from the preliminary phase will clash in Dubai (UAE) at the FINA Men's Water Polo World League Super Final, organised from June 16-21. (fina)

Italy and Montenegro to battle for last Super Final spot

AKUATIK. The sixth round of the men's FINA Water Polo World League European preliminaries will decide the last qualifier from that continent for the Super Final taking place in Dubai (UAE) from June 16-21, 2014. 

Group A and B leaders, Serbia and Hungary, have already secured a ticket for the Super Final. The battle for the last spot plays out between Montenegro and Italy in Group C, both totalling 12 points so far. 

On April 1, Slovakia will receive 2011 World champions Italy in Kosice. On April 15, 2013 World League winner Serbia will meet Russia in Kragujevac, current World champions Hungary will face reigning Olympic champions Croatia in Pecs and Montenegro will visit Germany in Krefeld.

Shanghai (CHN) will welcome the men's water polo teams of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Africa and USA for the World League’s Intercontinental Tournament from May 26-June 1, 2014.(fina)

Open water racing resumes in Cancun

AKUATIK. After a thrilling start in Argentina (Santa Fe and Hernandarias), Cancun (MEX) will hold the third stage of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2014 on March 29.

11 women and 21 men from 15 countries will take the departure in the 15km race. Big names in the world of open water include Pilar Geijo (ARG, winner in Hernandarias), Silvie Rybarova (CZE, winner in Santa Fe), Angela Maurer (GER), Damian Blaum (ARG), Simone Ercoli (ITA, winner in Santa Fe) and Ivan Afanevich (RUS, winner in Hernandarias). 

On April 5, Cancun will welcome the world's finest marathon swimmers for the second stop of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2014. 

Many Olympic and World medallists will be on-hand, considerably heightening the level of competition: 2012 Olympic silver and multi World medallist Thomas Lurz (GER), 2012 Olympic bronze medallist and reigning 25km World champion Martina Grimaldi (ITA), 2013 World Cup overall winner Angela Maurer (GER), 2013 World 10km silver medallist Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA) and 2013 World 25km bronze medallist Eva Fabian (USA), to name a few. (fina)